Facebook Art et Marges Youtube Art et Marges Mail Art et Marges instagram Art et Marges
FR | NL | EN

Rue Haute, 314

1000 Brussels


Located in the heart of Brussels, the art et marges museum, museum of outsider art, questions art and its borders.

The museum’s collection was created in the mid-1980s by self-taught artists, artistic workshops for people with mental disabilities or in psychiatric settings. Nowadays it is composed of more than 3500 international artworks produced outside the frequented trails of art.

The temporary exhibitions, at the rate of three a year, mix artists on both sides of the margin, questioning the boundaries of art and its definition.



An idea takes shape, a natural child of the surrealist movement.

Its name is Art en Marge.


From the idea to its realization, Art en Marge, Research and Diffusion Center, was created as a non-profit association under the artistic direction of Françoise Henrion.


Our first place open to the public - 7, rue des Vierges in 1000 Brussels, the exhibitions follow at a rate of more than five a year. For each exhibition a bulletin is produced, containing texts, interviews, portraits of artists and reproductions of works.

Many exhibitions have since taken place, showing the works of self-taught artists some of whom are residents in homes for the mentally disabled or patients in psychiatric hospitals, others have various jobs such as photographer, second-hand dealer, door to door salesman, musician, clothes designer, legionnaire, judge, mason, farmer, architect, cook, woodcutter, state employee, storyteller, prisoner, etc

In order to reflect on our research Gérard Prescow edited the magazine "Passages". The first issue of the series entitled "Art en Marge Year 1" was written in collaboration with Françoise Henrion, Chris Delville and Anne Vanderlinden.


Art en Marge moved to n° 59 rue des Alexiens. Evicted from our previous address, fate had us settle in next to La Fleur de Papier Doré, a café owned by “Le Petit Gérard”, the anarchist, poet and friend of the Belgian surrealists. There one came across Marcel Mariën, René Magritte, E.L.T. Mesen, Louis Scutenaire, Paul Colinet, and Jean Dubuffet, the father of Art Brut, who exhibited at Gérard Van Bruaene's in 1949.


Art en Marge celebrated its first 10 years with 10 exhibitions.On the occasion of this anniversary the fourth issue of Passages was published. It was titled “An Object, Just an Object, However…”, written by Gérard Preszow and coordinated by Brigitte Colin.


At age 15, Art en Marge moved to n°312, rue Haute.


Carine Fol takes over the artistic direction of the center after the retirement of Françoise Henrion. She forms a team with Olivier Bultiau.


Publication of the catalogue Art en Marge Collection and organization of an international colloquium at the Museum of Doctor Guislain in Ghent, on the occasion of the presentation of the collection which will then be presented at the Halle Saint-Pierre in Paris.


For the 175 anniversary of Belgium, Odd Visions is exhibited in Bozar, the Fine Arts Palace in Brussels, in parallel with the exhibition The visionary Belgium of Harald Szeemann.


Art et marges museum organizes the exhibition "MusikOblik" mixing the outstanding works of the outsider artist Adolf Wölfli and contemporary creations including those of Baudouin Oosterlynck. At the initiative of the museum, the Belgian composer Baudouin de Jaer embarked on the deciphering of the musical cryptograms of Wölfli's works, which later led to the recording of a CD, co-produced with the LaM (Lille Métropole Museum of Modern, Contemporary and Outsider Art) and Sub Rosa.Exchange projectas part of Pécs 2010. Belgian, Hungarian and Dutch artists gather for a 10-day workshop in Pécs. Project created in 2008 by invitation of COCOF under the bilateral agreement with Hungary, in collaboration with vzw Wit.h, stichtingEenNieuwe Wind, Pécs 2010, Janus Panonius Museum.


Art & marge museum exhibits the exceptional creations of Arthur Bispo do Rosario as part of the Festival Europalia Brazil.


Art et marges museum gets the Children's Award as part of the Museum Awards.

Tatiana Veress succeeds Carine Fol at the direction of Art et marges museum. The previous director takes over the function of artistic director of Centrale for contemporary art.


Art et marges museum gets the Audience Award as part of the Museum Awards.

Foundation of the association of Friends of Art et marges museum.


Art et marges museum celebrates its 5 years on the occasion of a festive day when visitors and artists are invited to create together, in the presence of JoëlleMilquet, Minister of Culture for the Wallonia-Brussels Federation, Karine Lalieux, Councilwoman of Culture in Brussels, and also of the two previous directors, Carine Fol and Françoise Henrion.

Art et marges museum presents the artworks of the Catalan outsider artist Josep Baqué, in the exhibition "Demons and Wonders". This is the first time that a museum institution has so widely presented these works.

Art et marges museum and the RAWR! Collective won the Audience Award and the Jury Prize for their programming at the 2014 edition of the Museum Night Fever.


Art et marges museum hosts the works from the prestigious collection abcd / Bruno Decharme for the exhibition "From navel to cosmos".

Carine Fol publishes "From the art of the mad to the art without margins. A century of fascination through the eyes of Hans Prinzhorn, Jean Dubuffet and Harald Szeeman" which stems from her doctoral thesis in art history.


With the Culturel Center Jacques Franck and wit.h, Art et marges museum launches the first edition of the multidisciplinary festival Multi Ordinary.

Art et marges museum presents the exhibition "Save the world? ".In collaboration with Atelier Goldstein, ABCD / Bruno Decharme Collection, christianberst art brut Galerie, La Fabuloserie, The S Grand Atelier, The Museum of Everything and the Museum Dr. Guislain.


The collection of Art et marges museum contains more than 3500 artworks from nearly 200 artists of all nationalities.

Here is an overview of the collection. This section will be regularly updated.

Facebook Art et Marges Youtube Art et Marges Mail Art et Marges instagram Art et Marges
FR | NL | EN

Rue Haute, 314

1000 Bruxelles

Présentation

Situé au cœur de Bruxelles, le art et marges musée, musée d’art outsider, questionne l’art et ses frontières.

Sa collection s’est constituée dès le milieu des années 80 auprès d’artistes autodidactes, d’ateliers artistiques pour personnes porteuses d’un handicap mental ou en milieu psychiatrique. Elle se compose aujourd’hui de plus de 3500 œuvres internationales produites en dehors des sentiers fréquentés de l’art.

Ses expositions temporaires, au rythme de trois par an, mêlent artistes de part et d’autre de la marge, questionnant les frontières de l’art et sa définition-même.

Historique

1983

Un projet prend forme – Enfant naturel du mouvement surréaliste.

Son nom : Art en Marge

1984

Du projet à sa réalisation – Art en Marge – Centre de Recherche et de Diffusion s’organise en Association Sans But Lucratif, sous la direction artistique de Françoise Henrion.

1986

Notre premier lieu ouvert au public – 7, rue des Vierges à 1000 Bruxelles, les expositions s’y succèdent au rythme de plus de cinq par an. A l’occasion de chaque exposition un bulletin est rédigé, contenant des textes, interviews, portraits d’artistes et reproductions d’œuvres.

Les objets exposés ont pour auteurs : des autodidactes. Certains sont pensionnaires de homes pour handicapés mentaux, d’hôpitaux psychiatriques, d’autres exercent ou ont exercé des métiers très variés : photographe, brocanteur, voyageur de commerce, musicien, couturier, légionnaire, juge, maçon, bonne à tout faire dans une ferme, architecte, cuisinier, bûcheron, fonctionnaire, conteur, détenu,… Ils sont belges, Hollandais, Allemands, Bulgares, Anglais, Français, Italiens, Espagnols, Portugais, Marocains, Koweïtiens, Congolais, Angolais, Australiens, Américains.

Afin de réfléchir sur nos recherches Gérard Prescow a proposé la revue « Passages » le premier numéro de la série intitulé « Art en Marge An 1 » est rédigé en connivence avec Françoise Henrion, Chris Delville et Anne Vanderlinden.

1992

Art en Marge déménage – au 59, rue des Alexiens à Bruxelles. Expulsé de la rue des Vierges, le hasard nous mène à côté de la « fleur en papier dorée », café dont le patron était alors « le petit Gérard », poète anarchiste et ami des surréalistes belges. On y retrouvait Marcel Mariën, René Magritte, E.L.T. Mesens, Louis Scutenaire, Paul Colinet et Jean Dubuffet, père de l’art brut, qui exposa chez Gérard Van Bruaene en 1949.

1996

Art en Marge fête ses 10 ans par 10 expositions. A l’occasion de cet anniversaire le quatrième numéro de la revue « Passages » est édité « Un objet, rien qu’un objet, et pourtant… » rédigé par Gérard Preszow et coordonné et mis en page par Brigitte Colin.

2001

Art en Marge déménage au 312, rue Haute, elle a 15 ans.

2002

Carine Fol reprend la direction artistique du centre après le départ à la pension de Françoise Henrion. Elle forme équipe avec Olivier Bultiau.

2003

Publication du Livre Art en Marge collection et organisation d'un colloque international au Musée du Docteur Guislain à l'occasion de la présentation de la collection qui sera ensuite présentée à la Halle Saint-Pierre à Paris.

2005

Exposition Vision singulières à Bozar à Bruxelles à l'occasion du 175 ème anniversaire de la Belgique en parallèle avec l'exposition La Belgique visionnaire d'Harald Szeemann.

2006

Le art & marges musée organise en ses murs l’exposition « MusikOblik » mêlant des œuvres remarquables de l’artiste brut Adolf Wölfli et des créations contemporaines dont celles de Baudouin Oosterlynck. À l’initiative du musée, le compositeur belge Baudouin de Jaer se lance dans le déchiffrage des cryptogrammes musicaux des œuvres de Wölfli, qui donnera lieu par la suite à l’enregistrement d’un CD, coproduit avec Le LaM (Lille Métropole Musée d'art moderne, d'art contemporain et d'art brut) et Sub Rosa.

Projet d’échange dans le cadre de Pécs 2010. Artistes belges, hongrois et hollandais se réunissent pour un workshop de 10 jours à Pécs. Projet créé en 2008 sur invitation de la COCOF dans le cadre de l’accord bilatéral avec la Hongrie, en collaboration avec vzw Wit.h, stichting Een Nieuwe Wind, Pécs 2010, Janus Panonius Museum.

2011

Le art & marges musée expose les créations exceptionnelles d’Arthur Bispo do Rosario à l’occasion du Festival Europalia Brésil.

2012

Le art & marges musée obtient le Prix des enfants dans le cadre des Prix des Musées.

Tatiana Veress succède à Carine Fol à la direction du art & marges musée. Cette dernière reprend la fonction de directrice artistique de Centrale for contemporary art.

2013

Le art & marges musée obtient le Prix des publics dans le cadre des Prix des Musées.

Fondation de l’asbl des Amis du art & marges musée.

2014

Le art & marges musée fête ses 5 ans à l’occasion d’une journée festive au cours de laquelle visiteurs et artistes sont invités à créer ensemble, en présence de Joëlle Milquet, Ministre de la Culture pour la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles et Karine Lalieux, Echevine de la Culture à Bruxelles ainsi que des deux précédentes directrices, Carine Fol et Françoise Henrion.

Le art & marges musée présente les œuvres de l’artiste outsider catalan Josep Baqué, dans l’exposition « Démons et Merveilles ». C’est la première fois qu’une institution muséale présente ces œuvres aussi largement.

Le art & marges musée et le RAWR! Collective obtiennent Le Prix du Public et Le Prix du Jury pour leur programmation lors de l’édition 2014 de la Museum Night Fever.

2015

Le art & marges musée accueille des œuvres de la prestigieuse collection abcd / Bruno Decharme pour l’exposition « Du nombril au cosmos ».

Carine Fol publie « De l’art des fous à l’art sans marges. Un siècle de fascination à travers les regards de Hans Prinzhorn, Jean Dubuffet et Harald Szeeman » qui découle de sa thèse de doctorat en histoire de l’art.

2016

Avec le Centre Culturel Jacques Franck et wit.h, le art et marges musée lance la première édition du festival pluridisciplinaire Multi Ordinary.

Le art et marges musée présente l’exposition « Sauver le monde ? ». En collaboration avec l’Atelier Goldstein, la Collection ABCD/Bruno Decharme, La galerie christianberst art brut, La Fabuloserie, La S Grand Atelier, The Museum of Everything et le Museum Dr. Guislain.

La collection

La collection du art et marges musée, c’est plus de 3500 œuvres et près de 200 artistes de toutes nationalités.

Voici un aperçu de la collection. Cette section sera régulièrement complétée.